A total of eight long-time Hope College faculty members will be retiring at the end of the current school year.

They span the college's three academic divisions--arts and humanities, social sciences, and natural and physical sciences. Together, they have devoted 234 years of service to Hope.

In addition to Dr. Jacob E. Nyenhuis, provost and professor of classics, whose retirement was announced in the fall, those retiring this year are: Dr. William Cohen, professor of history; Joan C. Conway, professor of music; William H. Japinga, associate professor of business administration; Dr. Peter L. Jolivette, professor of physics; Dr. Joseph W. MacDoniels, professor of communication; Dr. Gisela Strand-Hales, professor of German; and John Van Iwaarden, professor of mathematics.

"The college's outstanding faculty has been central to Hope's identity and success through the years," said President James E. Bultman. "This year's faculty retirees exemplify the extraordinary combination of scholarly excellence, concern for students and overall dedication that has made Hope College the exceptional place that it is. They hold the respect and affection of current and former colleagues and students alike."

"We as a campus community celebrate with them the opportunity that retirement will provide for them to enjoy and focus their lives in new ways," he said. "At the same time, however, we regret for ourselves the loss of their daily presence in our lives and in this place."

William Cohen has been a member of the faculty since 1971.  His scholarship has included the topics of slavery and post-Civil War black mobility. In 1993, he received the Southern Historical Association's Francis Butler Simkins Award for his book "At Freedom's Edge: Black Mobility and the Southern White Quest for Racial Control, 1861-1915."

In addition to his teaching, he has also advised Hope students interested in applying for prestigious, highly-competitive Marshall and Rhodes scholarships for graduate study. Under his guidance, three Hope students have received the awards since 1990. In January, he received Hope's "Provost's Award for Excellence in Teaching."

Prior to coming to Hope, he was a research associate with the Center for Urban Studies at the University of Chicago for three years.

Joan Conway, who joined the faculty in 1969, is well-known throughout the Midwest as a soloist, chamber player and accompanist. She has chaired the college's Faculty Recital Series for many years.

She is past president of the Michigan Music Teachers' Association (MMTA). The MMTA named her State Teacher of the Year in 1992. In 1994, the MMTA presented her with its first Distinguished Service Award.

She received an Alumni Citation from her undergraduate college, Lebanon Valley College, in 1996.

She spent 13 years performing and teaching in New York City before coming to Hope. Among other venues, she has played in Carnegie Recital Hall, Town Hall and Lincoln Center Library.

William Japinga joined the faculty full-time in 1981 after serving as an adjunct professor since 1979. His teaching emphasis has been on management and marketing.

He became men's tennis coach in March of 1982, succeeding 22-year coach Lawrence "Doc" Green, who died in January of that year. He coached the team through the 1992 season, with numerous players earning honors in the MIAA.

From 1978 to 1981, he was director of tennis and head professional of Holland Tennis Club. He had previously been vice president and director of tennis at the Racquet Club in Lake Bluff, Ill. He had previously taught at Northern Illinois University, Western Michigan University and Northwestern University.

Peter Jolivette joined the faculty in 1976. His research interest is in nuclear physics, and he has authored or co-authored many articles concerning his work. Through the years he has received numerous outside grants in support of his research.Earlier this year, he was elected a Fellow in the American Physical Society. He was recognized for his leadership throughout his career in developing undergraduate research in nuclear physics. Of the 200 Fellows named for 2000, he was one of only two from an undergraduate college.

Prior to joining the Hope faculty, he held research and teaching positions at the University of Notre Dame.

Joseph MacDoniels joined the faculty in 1972. His research interests have included leadership theory and decision-making processes.

During his 29 years on the faculty--17 as chair--he has played a leadership role in helping design the department's curriculum and in hiring outstanding faculty to match the program's emphases. The program's approach has earned national acclaim. The department received national "Program of Excellence" recognition from the Senior College and University Section of the Speech Communication Association (SCA) in 1995, and regional recognition in both 1989 and 1991.

He has been active nationally in considering the teaching of communication at the undergraduate level and helping to better equip faculty members to do so. He co-founded the annual "Institute for Faculty Development:  Communication Theory, Research and Pedagogy Conference," first held in 1985 and hosted by Hope through last summer.  In 1997, the National Communication Association presented him with a Presidential Citation for creating the program.  In 1994, he received the Federation Prize from the Central States Communications Association for a peer mentoring program for faculty engaged in research.

He received an Alumni Recognition Award from his undergraduate alma mater, Culver-Stockton College, in 1993.

Prior to coming to Hope, he was an instructor in speech at the University of Kansas at Lawrence.

Gisela Strand-Hales joined the faculty in 1969. She has taught courses in not only the German language, but on German culture and literature as well. She has received research support from external agencies including the NEH and the Goethe Institute.

Her activities have included coordinating the department's "language houses," cottages for students sharing an interest in the same language, and advising the German Club and the Delta Phi Alpha German honorary society.

She was born in Germany and did her undergraduate work in Freiburg and Vienna. Prior to coming to Hope, she taught at Vanderbilt University.

John Van Iwaarden joined the faculty in 1961, four years after graduating from Hope with majors in mathematics and physics. He has taught courses in computer science and physics as well as mathematics.

His publications include the books "Ordinary Differential Equations with Numerical Techniques," "College Algebra" and "Discrete Structures--Essential Computer Mathematics."

For more than two decades, he announced Hope football and basketball games on local radio; more recently, he has been the public address system announcer for women's basketball. Since 1995, he has been one of Hope's faculty representatives to the MIAA and the NCAA.

His community involvements have included chairing both the Holland Township Planning Commission and the Park Township Planning Commission.

Prior to coming to Hope, he had taught at Michigan State University.