NCAA Division III Sectional Tournament
at Brownwood, Texas
Friday-Saturday, March 14-15, 2008

Flying Dutch Probable Starters
F - 24   Stacy Warsen (5-10 senior from Cutlerville, Mich.) 5.0 ppg, 3.7 rpg
C - 41   Lindsay Lange (6-12 senior from Manistee, Mich.) 7.4 ppg, 4.7 ppg
G -  4    Philana Greene (5-9 sophomore from Grandville, Mich.) 9.3 ppg, 4.4 rpg
G - 14  Julie Henderson (5-11 senior from Grand Haven, Mich.) 3.9 ppg, 2.1 rpg
G - 22  Jordyn Boles (5-10 senior from Grand Rapids, Mich.) 11.3 ppg, 2.2 ppg

The Flying Dutch (29-0) are appearing in the NCAA Division III championships for the tenth time in school history and the sixth time since 2001. Their NCAA tournament record is 15-9, including 7-1 on their home court and 8-8 when playing on the road. Hope is competing in the NCAA tournament as champion of the Michigan Intercollegiate Athletic Association (MIAA).  An MIAA team has been national champion three times -- Hope in 1990 and 2006 and Alma in 1992. MIAA teams have a cumulative NCAA record of 42-27.

The Flying Dutch posted back-to-back double-digit victories in each of the first two rounds, topping Juniata, Pa. 76-47 and Baldwin-Wallace, Ohio, 68-48.

This year's team has the added incentive for wanting to advance through the tournament as the semi-finals and national championship game will be played at Hope's DeVos Fieldhouse the weekend of March 21-22. Winning a national title on their home court would not be something new to the Flying Dutch who won the 1990 Division III national crown at the HollandCivicCenter with an amazing come-from-behind win over heavily favored St. John Fisher, N.Y., 65-63.

Hope is playing its 13th straight NCAA tournament game on the road. Hope's last home NCAA tournament game was a 2003 first round victory over Mount St. Joseph, Ohio. at the college's DowCenter.  Hope moved to the DeVos Fieldhouse in 2005, but has yet to host an NCAA game there. In 2006 the Flying Dutch played six consecutive games on the road en route to winning the national championship in Springfield, Mass.  Hope's DeVos Fieldhouse record is 43-1, including 18-0 this season.

Hope's trip to Brownwood, Texas is 1,249 miles according to Mapquest. 
George Fox willtravel 2,058 miles while DeSales' trip will cover 1,631 miles.

Hope and Howard Payne are on 29-game winning streaks.  DeSales has won 15 in-a-row while George Fox is on a two-game streak since bowing in its conference tournament championship game.

The George Fox Bruins (25-4) are from Newberg, Oregon and are appearing in the NCAA championships for the fifth time since 2000 and in the Sweet Sixteen for the third time.  They are 7-4 in NCAA games. The Bruins were co-champions of the Northwest League and gained an at-large berth in the NCAA championships.  George Fox defeated Chapman, Calif. 71-55 in a first round round and topped conference rival Pudget Sound 72-66 in the second round.

The Howard Payne Yellow Jackets (29-0) are from Brownwood, Tex., a city of 18,000 residents located midway between Dallas and San Antonio.  The Yellow Jackets are appearing in the NCAA championship for a fourth consecutive year.  They are 3-3 in NCAA games. Howard Payne qualified for the NCAA tournament as champions of the American Southwest Conference.  The Bruins had a first round bye and then posted a home 79-64 victory over McMurry, Texas in the second round.

The DeSales Bulldogs (26-3) are from Center Valley, Pa. This is the Bulldogs' eighth appearance in the NCAA championship (1989-90-96-97-98-2000-03-08).  DeSales is 4-7 in those NCAA appearances.  DeSales qualified for the NCAA tournament as champions of the Freedom Conference.  The Bulldogs defeated Muhlenberg 56-48 in a first round game and topped SalemState 73-63 in the second round.

Senior Julie Henderson has been named the conference (MIAA) Defensive player of the Year for the second year in-a-row.  In 2006 she was named to the all-tournament team at the NCAA championship finals.

Senior Jordyn Boles has been voted to the All-MIAA women's first team or the third consecutive year. She was joined on the first team by sophomore Philana Greene.  Senior Lindsay Lange of Manistee received second team recognition.

Jordyn Boles and Julie Henderson have each started in 118 consecutive games which is a Hope record. Boles holds the Hope record for three-point baskets (212) and ranks sixth all-time among Hope scorers with 1,247 points.  Henderson, a fifth-year player, started her first two games as a freshman but was sidelined for the rest of the season because of an injury. Henderson is the all-time Hope leader in steals (229) and ranks second in assistswith 439(The record is 461 assists by Sue Buikema, 1984-88).

Lindsay Lange ranks 3rd all-time at Hope in blocked shots with 119. The career leader isLisa Timmer with 137 from 1993-97 and second all-time is Kristin Carlson with 123 from 1991-95. Lange's blocked shot total has been reached in three seasons while Timmer and Carlson accomplished their's over four seasons.  Lange played on the Hope junior varsity as a freshman.  She is also an NCAA All-American

Six current players were on Hope's 2006 national championship team -- Jordyn Boles, Julie Henderson, Kaitlyn Kopke, Courtney Knox, Lindsay Lange and Stacy Warsen.  Boles, Henderson and Warsen started in the national championship game.

In 12 seasons under Coach Brian Morehouse, the Flying Dutch are 287-55 (84%). He entered the 2007-08 season ranked fifth among NCAA Division III coaches by winning percentage.  His father, Dean Morehouse, is a member of the coaching staff.

The Hope College men's basketball team has also qualified for the NCAA Division III championship.  Twelve schools had both their men's and women's basketball teams qualify for the  tournament. Three remain entering the Sectional tournament - Hope, Amherst, Mass. and Rochester, N.Y.