Hope College President James E. Bultman has been elected to the Division III Presidents Council of the National Collegiate Athletic Association (NCAA).

The 15-member Presidents Council is Division III's primary governance body, overseeing the Division III Management Council and the division's committee structure. The four-year term will begin in April.

Presidents Council members are elected in balloting open to all presidents and chancellors at Division III member institutions. Division III is the largest of the NCAA divisions with 444 active and provisional member institutions.

President of his alma mater since 1999, Dr. Bultman been a member of the NCAA's President Advisory Group. Prior to coming to Hope, Dr. Bultman served as president of NorthwesternCollege, Orange City, Iowa, (1985-99) and in that capacity was a member of the Council of Presidents of the National Association of Intercollegiate Athletics (NAIA).

Dr. Bultman played football and baseball while a Hope undergraduate, achieving all-conference (MIAA) honors three times in baseball.  He returned to his alma mater to teach in the education department and later served as dean for the social sciences.  He also served as the college's baseball coach and an assistant football coach.