The Flying Dutchmen return 22 letterwinners from a 2009 team that
finished second in the Michigan Intercollegiate Athletic Association
(MIAA). Coach Kevin Cole begins his fifth season at the helm of the
track and field program with a roster that includes 11 freshmen, 17
sophomores, 15 juniors and 12 seniors.

Co-captains of the team are seniors Bryan Dekoekkoek of Martin
(Kalamazoo Christian HS), Jeffrey Minkus of Glen Ellyn, Ill. (Glenbard
West HS), Preston Pierson of Traverse City (Traverse City Central HS),
and Matt Wiersum of Minnetonka, Minn. (Minnetonka HS). Minkus is a
captain for the second year.

The Flying Dutchmen return four defending MIAA champions.  Minkus is
the two-time defending champion in the triple jump while junior Nick
Rinck of Hudsonville (Hudsonville HS) will be bidding for a third
consecutive league crown in the 400-meter dash. Other defending league
champions include senior Aaron Treiber of Auburn (Valley Lutheran HS)
in the long jump and sophomore Kyle VanderVeen of Alto (Caledonia HS)
in the 100-meter dash. Hope also is the defending MIAA champion in the
4x400-meter relay. Returning from that relay are senior Frank Previch
of Adrian (Onsted HS), Preston Pierson and Nick Rinck.

Two of the teams's distance runners achieved All-MIAA cross country
honors last fall -- Matt Wiersum and sophomore Brian Hernandez of
Tecumseh (Saline HS).

Junior John Donkersloot of Zeeland (Zeeland East HS) is a returning
NCAA Division III All-American in the high jump.  He won the bronze
medal at the 2009 national championships and as a freshman finished

Other returning letterwinners include sophomore Christian Calyore of
Naples, Fla. (Barron Collier HS), senior Matt Clark of Holland
(Holland HS), junior James Colten of Wheaton, Ill. (Wheaton North HS),
junior Dezmon Fulton of Southfield (Dearborn Robichaud HS), senior
Ryan Jara of Commerce Township (Walled Lake Northern HS), senior
Collin Kooy of Metamora (Flint Powers Catholic HS), junior Cameron
Lampkin of Oak Park (Berkley HS), sophomore Nathan Love of Midland
(Midland HS), sophomore Emery Max of Okemos (Okemos HS), sophomore
Andrew McKeachie of Milford (Milford HS), senior Jonathan Rodriguez of
Berrien Springs (Berrien Springs HS), and junior Carl Scholten of
Petoskey (Petoskey HS).