With a strong nucleus of returning letterwinners, the Flying Dutchmen will be seeking to maintain their dominance of the Michigan Intercollegiate Athletic Association (MIAA).

A year ago coach Bob Ebels' Flying Dutchmen captured the conference championship for the sixth time in seven seasons and went on to place ninth at the NCAA Division III championships, best ever for a Hope team. All this was accomplished with just one senior on the roster.

The pre-season roster could have as many as 10 returning letterwinners including All-MIAA golfer Nicholas Campbell, a junior from Saline (Saline HS). Campbell tied for fourth place in the MIAA player standings a year ago. Campbell was also an All-MIAA golfer in 2008.

Captain of the team is senior Chris Ansel of Zeeland (Zeeland East HS). Ansel had the distinction of shooting a hole-in-one in a conference tournament at the Bedford Valley Country Club last season.

Other returning letterwinners includesophomore John Cannon of Traverse City (Traverse Cuity West HS), sophomore Austin Farah of Bloomfield Hills (Southfield Christian HS), junior Chris Harwood ofn Westfield, Ind. (Brebeuf Prep), junior Caleb Nykamp of Holland (Holland Christian HS), sophomore Dan Peplinski of Cedar (St. Mary's HS), junior Andrew Thomson of Beaver Dam, Wisc. (Central Wisconsin Christian HS), and junior Scott Webster of Ada (Linfield Christian, Calif. HS).

Each MIAA team hosts a conference tournament. Hope's turn will be Monday, Sept. 27, at the Wuskowhan Players Club. The MIAA champion will receive an automatic berth in the NCAA Division III championships in the spring of 2011.