Tarwo Konbloa

Hope College senior Tarwo Konbloa has been selected to the All-Michigan Intercollegiate Athletic Association Men’s Soccer Team by the league’s coaches.

Also, Hope senior Gavin Midlam has been chosen Hope’s sixth recipient of the Dr. Marvin Zuidema Award, presented to a senior for his contributions to team play, leadership qualities, demonstration of ethical virtues and excellence in athletics and academics.

Konbloa, a midfielder from Kentwood, Michigan (East Kentwood HS), scored four goals for the Flying Dutchmen in 13 MIAA matches this season. He helped the Flying Dutchmen finish third in the MIAA standings and record a 13-7-1 overall record.

Hope coach Steven Smith said he is pleased to see Konbloa be named All-MIAA First Team.

“Tarwo is so deserving of this first team all-league award,” Smith said. “He has been an impact player for hope all four years receiving the newcomer award his freshman year.”

Midlam started all 21 matches for Hope this season.

The midfielder from East Lansing, Michigan (East Lansing HS), follows other Hope recipients Jason Muller (2013), Luke Dishnow (2012), Ed Huebner (2003), Matt Margaron (2002) and Stephen Rabuck (2000).

“I am so proud that Gavin has received the honor of the Zuidema Award,” Smith said. “Having been a friend of Marv Zuidema, I know that Gavin is someone Marv would have loved to see receive this award.

“Gavin was our spiritual leader amongst our team this year. He has lived a life of service at Hope College and in his travels to Rwanda and Jamaica. I am excited that he has received this character award.”

Three Hope players were named All-MIAA Second Team: back Corey Stelk of Bettendorf, Iowa (Pleasant Valley HS, midfielder Cameron Dice of Allendale, Michigan (Hudsonville Unity Christian HS), and forward Josh Hagene of Caledonia, Michigan (East Kentwood HS). 

“Each one has committed so much to Hope soccer. They have worked hard to develop this skills and support their team,” Smith said. “Each of them has stood out amongst their peers in the league and are well deserving of this award. I am proud of each of them.”