Hope College’s Harrison Blackledge has been chosen a NCAA Division III First Team All-American and Great Lakes Region Player of the Year for the 2016-17 season by the National Association of Basketball Coaches.

The senior forward from Canton, Ohio (Hoover HS) is one of eight Division III players to receive First Team All-America recognition.

The Jostens Trophy winning-Blackledge joins a group that includes Ramapo forward Thomas Bonaum, Christopher Newport forward Tim Daly, Babson guard Joey Flannery, Whitman guard Tim Howell, Hardin-Simmons forward Nathaniel Jack, Ripon guard Ty Sabin, and Oswego State guard Brian Sortino.

The NABC honored 24 All-Americans on first, second and third teams.

Harrison headlined a group of six All-Great Lakes Region honorees that included Ohio Wesleyan’s Nate Axelrod, Medaille’s Johnathan Belton, Marietta’s A.J. Edwards, Mount Union’s DeAllen Jackson and Hanover’s Wes McKinney.

Blackledge led the Michigan Intercollegiate Athletic Association-champion and NCAA Division III-sectional qualifying Flying Dutchmen in scoring this season at 20.0 points while shooting 56.9 percent from the field, including 40.0 percent from 3-point range, and 79.9 percent from the foul line.

Earlier, Blackledge was named Great Lakes Region Player of the Year by D3hoops. He also was chosen MIAA MVP.