Hope College honored faculty and staff members for service to the college and other professional activity during the annual faculty recognition event coordinated by the Provost’s Office and held at the Maas Center auditorium on Tuesday, Jan. 8.

The event included a program during which the college presented awards to seven members of the faculty or staff and honored several professors for service anniversaries at Hope.  In addition, the Provost’s Office will be featuring online a listing of those with other notable professional activity during the past year, including book publications, creative performances and exhibitions, honors and awards, completing doctorates or other terminal degrees, leadership roles in professional associations, athletic championships and external grants.

Named Towsley Research Scholars were Alyssa Cheadle (psychology) and Kristin Dittenhafer-Reed (chemistry).  The Janet L. Andersen Excellence in Teaching Award was presented to Gerald Griffin (biology and psychology). The Ruth and John Reed Faculty Achievement Award was presented to Leah Chase (biology and chemistry).  The Provost’s Award for Service to the Academic Program was presented to Linda Graham (dance).  The Motoichiro Oghimi Global Courage Award was presented to Kendra Parker (English).  The Excellence in Advising Award was presented to Alyssa Boss (Registrar’s Office).  Descriptions of the awards follow at the end of this document.

The college honored 23 members of the faculty for five-year service anniversaries beginning at two decades and through 50 years for a total of 605 combined years of service:

50 Years (1969)
Bruce McCombs, art
35 Years (1984)

Ed Hansen, geological and environmental science
Jim Herrick, communication

30 Years (1989)

Steve Nelson, art
Rob Pocock, communication
Deb Swanson, sociology and social work
Todd Swanson, mathematics

25 Years (1994)

Claudine André, Spanish
Steve Bouma-Prediger, religion
Brigitte Hamon-Porter, French
Dede Johnston, communication and also the interim dean for global education
Marla Lunderberg, English
Jonathan Peterson, geological and environmental science
David Ryden, political science
Elizabeth Sanford, chemistry
John Yelding, education

20 Years (1999)

Ken Brown, chemistry
Mary Inman, psychology
Jesus Montaño, English
Mike Pikaart, chemistry
Brian Porter, management
Jill VanderStoep, mathematics
Scott VanderStoep, psychology and also the dean for social sciences

The online listing of all of the recognition is available on the Provost Office’s website.

Alyssa Cheadle and Kristin Dittenhafer-ReedThe Towsley Research Scholars Program is funded through an endowment made possible through a grant from the Harry A. and Margaret D. Towsley Foundation of Midland. Through the program, newer Hope faculty members receive support for a project for four years. The foundation’s awards to the college have also included grants for the construction of the Van Wylen Library and the Schaap Science Center, faculty development in the pre-medical sciences and support for an endowed chair in communication.


Gerald GriffinThe Janet L. Andersen Excellence in Teaching Award is presented to faculty members who have been teaching at Hope for at least seven years and who have demonstrated recognizable excellence in specific activities or aspects of teaching. The award is named in memory of Dr. Janet Andersen, a professor of mathematics at Hope who died of injuries sustained in an automobile accident on Thursday, Nov. 24, 2005.



Leah ChaseThe Ruth and John Reed Faculty Achievement Award recognizes members of the Hope faculty who are superior teachers and have also contributed significantly in some other area of professional life. The award was established in memory of Dr. Ruth Yzenbaard Reed, a 1965 Hope graduate who was associate dean of Macomb Community College. Reed died in August 1999 at age 55.



Linda GrahamThe Provost’s Award for Service to the Academic Program is presented to individuals who have provided special contributions to the academic program through student academic support, general education, assessment work, implementation of programs that support/enhance the curriculum, and any activity outside of formal teaching that contributes to the overall excellence of the academic program.



Kendra ParkerThe Motoichiro Oghimi Global Courage Award is presented to individuals who exhibit the intercultural courage exemplified by Motoichiro Oghimi, a member of the college’s Class of 1879 who came from Japan as one of Hope’s first international students.  It is given to faculty or academic staff members who exemplify deep engagement with the part of the college’s mission that calls for preparing students for leadership and service in a global society; bold risk-taking in creating new ways and opportunities to help students engage with other people, places and cultures; and engagement in global initiatives that go above and beyond their normal responsibilities.

Alyssa BossThe Excellence in Advising Award celebrates the investment and dedication that advisors devote to their advisees.  Considerations include the recipient’s work helping student self-understanding of strengths, interests, and the exploration of academic and professional goals; academic planning including class registration, monitoring academic requirements and encouraging well-informed decision making; and seeing the big picture and providing a context for learning through encouraging student engagement, helping students identify the logic and relationships of the curriculum, and offering personal feedback and advice.