The Michigan Intercollegiate Athletic Association
(MIAA) has honored several Hope College student-athletes who
competed on fall sports teams by naming them to all-conference


Six players have been voted to the All-MIAA football first
team while another two have achieved second team recognition.
Hope finished in second place in the MIAA standings.

On offense, first team honorees are junior tackle Dan Wegner
of North Muskegon (North Muskegon HS), sophomore tight end Brian
Adloff of East Grand Rapids (East Grand Rapids HS) and junior
wide receiver Matt Handzo of Clinton Township (Warren DeLaSalle

Three seniors are being honored on the All-MIAA first
defensive team -- tackle Greg Vaughan of Traverse City (St.
Francis HS), linebacker Adam Paarlberg of Alto (Caledonia HS),
and back Matt Putnam of Greenville (Greenville HS). All of
Hope's first team players are being honored for the first time.

Players named to the All-MIAA second team are senior wide
receiver Tim Alles of Grand Rapids (South Christian HS) and senior
defensive back Dave DeHommel of Jenison (Jenison HS).


Senior Becky Schmidt of Holland (Holland HS) has been voted
the MIAA's most valuable player for the second year in-a-row.
Schmidt led the Flying Dutch to a third consecutive MIAA
championship and a berth in the NCAA Division III playoffs for
the second year in-a-row.

She is joined on the All-MIAA first team by senior Heather
Velting of Byron Center (Grand Rapids South Christian HS).
Velting is a three-time All-MIAA honoree.

Sophomore Amy Brower of Hamilton (Hamilton HS) was voted to
the All-MIAA second team.

Men's Soccer

Five Hope players achieved All-MIAA men's soccer honors,
three of the first team. The
Flying Dutchmen finished sixth in the MIAA standings.

Voted to the All-MIAA first team were junior midfielder Rob
Allison of Kalamazoo (Kalamazoo Central HS), senior back Andy
Dressler of Portage (Portage Northern HS) and senior back Zach
Jonker of Petoskey (Petoskey HS). Dressler is a three-time All-
MIAA honoree.

Second team honorees are sophomore forward Ben Bacon of
Portage (Portage Northern HS) and sophomore midfielder Matt
VanderNaald of Petoskey (Petoskey HS).

Women's Soccer

Six Hope players were voted to the All-MIAA women's soccer
team which tied for third place in the standings.

Junior goalkeeper Kate Berghorst of Hudsonville (Hudsonville
HS) and freshman Emilie Dirkse of Holland (West Ottawa HS)
received All-MIAA first team recognition.

Voted All-MIAA second team were junior forward Debbie Burr
of Mendon (Vicksburg HS), senior midfielder Tina Gill of
Kalamazoo (Kalamazoo Central HS), junior forward Natalie Rejc of
Farmington Hills (North Farmington HS), and senior forward
Gretchen Schoon of Holland (West Ottawa HS).

Cross Country

Two Hope athletes achieved All-MIAA first team recognition
in both men's and women's cross country. Both Hope teams
finished second in their respective conference standings.

In women's cross country, seniors Ellen Schultz of Maple
City (Maple City-Glen Lake HS) and Becky Timmer of Pella, Iowa
(Pella HS) were first team honorees. Schultz became just the
sixth runner in MIAA women's cross country history to be all-
league for four years. Second team All-MIAA went to senior Cindi
Bannink of Holland (Holland Christian HS) and sophomore Andrea
Egeler of Fruitport (Fruitport HS).

All-MIAA first team honors in men's cross country were
earned by sophomore Joe Veldman of Sawyer (Three Oaks-River
Valley HS) and freshman Dylan Wade of Beulah (Benzie Central HS)
while senior team honorees were junior Paul Berke of Park Ridge,
Ill. (Maine Township HS) and sophomore Garrett Childs of
Breckenridge (Breckenridge HS).


The MIAA medalist in both men's and women's golf was a Hope
athlete. Junior Anne Colenbrander of Holland (Holland HS) was
the women's medalist for the second time in her career while
freshman Eric Wohlfield of Brighton (Brighton HS) achieved the
distinction in men's golf.

Joining Colenbrander on the women's All-MIAA first team was
junior Gina Pellerito of Ada (Forest Hills Central HS) while
achieving second team distinction were freshman Emily Thielk of
Ann (Pioneer HS), senior Melody Oonk of Holland (Holland HS) and
senior Elizabeth Yared of Grand Rapids (East Grand Rapids HS).

Senior Mark Piersma of Kentwood (East Kentwood HS) joined
Wohlfield on the All-MIAA men's first team while sophomores Chris
Rutan of Ann Arbor (Pioneer HS) and Andy Nietring of East Grand
Rapids (East Grand Rapids HS) were second team honorees.