The dining service program at Hope
College has received recognition in two categories in the
27th annual Loyal E. Horton Dining Awards Contest of the
National Association of College & University Food Services

The award recipients will be honored on Friday,
July 28, during the association's 42nd national conference,
which will be held in Calgary, Alberta, Canada, on Tuesday-
Saturday, July 25-29.

Hope won first place among "small" schools in the
"Catering - Special Event" category for the "Kletz Anchors
Away Buffet" lunch, held in the Kletz Snack Bar on Tuesday,
April 11. Hope won second place among "small" schools in
the "Residence Hall Dining - Special Event/Theme Dinner"
category for the "Citrus Special" dinner in the Cook Hall
dining hall on Tuesday, March 7. No first place winner was
named in the "small" schools division in the "Residence Hall
Dining - Special Event/Theme Dinner" category.

Both events were developed and implemented by
members of the dining service staff at Hope. The college's
dining service program is operated by Creative Dining
Services, based in Zeeland.

The "Kletz Anchors Away Buffet" featured cuisine
native to Mexico, Alaska and Hawaii. The Kletz was
decorated in keeping with the theme, and even featured ice
sculptures created for the event. The snack bar also held
drawings for door prizes. The entry packet for the contest
was prepared by Sharon Phillips, who is a retail manager at
the Kletz.

The "Citrus Special" in the Cook Hall dining hall
featured seafood and other cuisine appropriate to Florida,
in keeping with the event's timing shortly before the
beginning of Spring Break. The event also featured prizes,
as well as games for the students. The entry packet for the
contest was prepared by Lucy Jongekrijg, who is manager of
the dining hall.

Open to all institutional members of NACUFS, the
contest features five categories: "Residence Hall Dining -
Standard Menu," "Residence Hall Dining - Special Event/Theme
Dinner," "Catering - Standard Menu," "Catering - Special
Event" and "Retail Sales." Competing schools are considered
in three divisions based on size--small, medium or large--
with prizes for first place, second place and third place
awarded within each division. A single grand prize winner
will also be named for each of the five categories during
the national conference in July.

The contest was designed to promote creativity and
sound nutrition in the areas of food presentation, menu
variety and merchandising. The event is named for Loyal E.
Horton, a former NACUFS president and founding member of the

NACUFS is a trade association for campus dining
departments at institutions of higher education in the
United States, Canada and abroad. NACUFS is devoted to
promoting the highest quality of food service, and supports
its institutional and industry members with education,
training, technical assistance, information, scholarships
and research.