The combination of excellence in athletics and academics has resulted in Hope College junior pitcher Kim Grotenhuis of Hamilton being named a first-team GTE Academic All-American in softball.

Grotenhuis is a two-sport standout. This past year she achieved all-conference honors from the Michigan Intercollegiate Athletic Association (MIAA) in both volleyball and softball. A social studies composite major, she also maintained a perfect 4.0 grade point average.

She becomes the 34th Hope student-athlete to be named a GTE Academic All-American and the fifth softball player. Earlier this year junior Elizabeth VandenBerg of Beverly Hills, Mich. was voted to GTE Academic All-American in swimming.

Grotenhuis is joined by Jennifer Segner of Muskingum College as the GTE first-team pitchers. This spring in a classic showdown, Grotenhuis pitched Hope to a 2-1 victory over the nationally ranked Ohio team. Segner had come into the game unbeaten in 30 starts. Also honored on the first team is Alma College senior catcher Kathryn Nordin.

Grotenhuis had an outstanding softball campaign this spring. She threw two no-hitters, tied a Hope record for pitching victories (16) and set a school mark for the lowest earned run average (0.96). At one point in the season, her pitching record was 4-5, but she rallied to win 12 of her next 13 decisions to post a 16-6 record. In addition to being voted All-MIAA, she was voted to the Division III All-Region team for the second straight year.

She was co-captain of the volleyball team last fall and from her setter position established a school record for assists.

The daughter of Larry and Beverly Grotenhuis of Hamilton, she is a 1997 graduate of Hamilton High School. One of her softball teammates this spring was her freshman sister Kathi.

Other Hope softball players who have been GTE Academic All-Americans are Anne Hendrickson (1985), DeeAnn Knoll (1987 & 1988), Johanna Pscodna (1992) and Laurie Byington (1996).

The GTE Academic All-America program is sponsored by the College Sports Information Directors of America.