Dr. Mark A. Suwyn of West Linn, Ore., has been named to the Hope College Board of Trustees, completing the 2002 round of trustee appointments.

Suwyn is a 1964 Hope graduate. He has been chairman and chief executive officer of Louisiana-Pacific Corporation since 1996.

From 1992 to 1995, he was with International Paper Inc., where he served as executive vice president of distribution, specialty products and forest lands. Before joining International Paper Inc., he spent 25 years with E.I. Du Pont, where he held a variety of positions, including senior vice president, imaging systems and medical products; group vice president, imaging systems; and vice president, human resources.

Suwyn is chairman of Junior Achievement International, and a member of the board of Junior Achievement U.S. He is a trustee of the Nature Conservancy of Oregon, co-chairman of the Washington State University Foundation, a board member for the American Forest and Paper Association, and co-chair of the Oregon Watershed Enhancement Board.

He has received a Gold Leadership Award from Junior Achievement. He and his wife Patt were also co- recipients of the Pullman Washington School District Superintendent's Contribution Award.

Suwyn holds his doctorate in inorganic chemistry from Washington State University. He was a chemistry major at Hope.

He and Patt, who is a Hope classmate, have three children, M. Daniel, Jeff and Michelle.

In addition to Suwyn, those newly chosen to serve on the board this year are: Theodore S. Etheridge III of West Olive; Dr. Lorna Hernandez Jarvis of Holland; and the Rev. Dr. Charles E. Van Engen of Glendora, Calif. All four of this year's new trustees have been appointed to four-year terms.