Hope College honored faculty members for service, academic achievement and professional involvement during the college's annual recognition luncheon on Monday, Jan. 6.

Hope College honored faculty members for service, academic achievement and professional involvement during the college's annual recognition luncheon on Monday, Jan. 6.

The luncheon traditionally marks the beginning of the college's second semester. Participating were James N. Boelkins, provost; James E. Bultman, president; James M. Gentile, dean for the natural sciences; Alfredo M. Gonzales, associate provost; Jon J. Huisken, dean for academic services and registrar; Nancy S. Miller, dean for the social sciences; and William D. Reynolds, dean for the arts and humanities.

Recognized for 40 years of service was Charles C. Aschbrenner (music), while recognized for 35 years of service were Nancy S. Miller (dean for the social sciences) and John K.V. Tammi (theatre).

Honored for 25 years of service were: Albert A. Bell Jr. (history), Donald L. Cronkite (biology), William R. Mayer (art), Barbara A. Mezeske (English), John R. Patnott (kinesiology), Michael D. Seymour (chemistry) and Kathleen Verduin (English). Those recognized for 20 years of service were: Marc B. Baer (history), Barry L. Bandstra (religion), Peter L. Gonthier (physics), M. Linda Graham (dance), Charles W. Green (psychology), Roger J. Nemeth (sociology), Michael E. Silver (chemistry) and John R. Stoughton (mathematics).

Charles W. Green (psychology, and Philip Phelps Scholars Program) and Maura M. Reynolds (Latin, and academic advising) received the Provost's Award for Service to the Academic Program. Thomas E. Ludwig (psychology) and John R. Patnott (kinesiology) received this year's Provost's Award for Excellence in Teaching. James B. Allis (philosophy) received the Ruth and John Reed Faculty Achievement Award. Leah A. Chase (biology and chemistry) and William A. Pannapacker (English) were named Towsley Research Scholars, and Victor V. Claar (economics) received an award from the Faculty Fund for Faith and Learning.

Faculty honored for serving on the college's Teaching Enhancement Workshop Committee were: James B. Heisler, chair (economics and business administration), Donald L. Cronkite (biology) and Barbara Mezeske (English). Honored as workshop presenters were: Jane R. Dickie (psychology, and women's studies), Timothy M. Evans (biology), Kristen Gray (Counseling Center), Jacqueline D. Heisler (Academic Support Center), Lorna Hernandez Jarvis (psychology), David J. Klooster (English), Maura M. Reynolds (Latin, and academic advising), John J. Shaughnessy (psychology), Michael E. Silver (chemistry), Joanne L. Stewart (chemistry), Kathleen Verduin (English) and John A. Yelding (education).

Ronald M. Wolthuis (education) was recognized for having received the Hope Outstanding Professor Educator (H.O.P.E.) Award in the spring of 2002.

Acknowledged as authors and editors during the past year were: Jackie Bartley (English), Albert Bell (history), James Bultman (president), Donald Cronkite (biology), Miguel De La Torre (religion), Michael Jipping (computer science), Fred Johnson (history), James Kennedy (history), David Klooster (English), David Myers (psychology), Jacob E. Nyenhuis (A.C. Van Raalte Institute, and provost emeritus), Jack Ridl (English), David Ryden (political science), Peter Schakel (English), Heather Sellers (English), John Shaughnessy (psychology), Robert Swierenga (A.C. Van Raalte Institute), Scott VanderStoep (psychology, and Carl Frost Center for Social Science Research) and Allen Verhey (religion).

Members of the music faculty honored for accomplishments as performing artists were Mihai Craioveanu and Mansoon Han Kim. Members of the art faculty recognized for their work as artists were: Judy Hillman, Daryn Lowman, William Mayer, Del Michel and Steve Nelson; also honored for his work as a co-curator was Neal Sobania (history, and international education). Honored as coaches of MIAA championship teams were Brian Morehouse (women's basketball) and Steve Smith (men's soccer).

Faculty honored for serving as officers of professional organizations included: Janet Andersen (mathematics), Maria (Claudine) Andre (modern and classical languages), Barry Bandstra (religion), Greg Murray (biology), Geoffrey Reynolds (Joint Archives of Holland), Maura Reynolds (Latin, and academic advising) and Scott VanderStoep (psychology, and Carl Frost Center for Social Science Reseach).

Recognized for receiving honors and awards were: Chris Barney (biology), Steven Bouma-Prediger (religion), Susan Cherup (education), Elizabeth Colburn (Upward Bound), Maxine DeBruyn (dance), Miguel De La Torre (religion), the department of education, James Gentile (dean for the natural sciences), Roberta Kraft (music), John Lunn (economics, management and accounting), David Myers (psychology), Jack Ridl (English), Mike Silver (chemistry), Ray Smith (kinesiology), Christian Spielvogel (communication) and Darin Stephenson (mathematics).

Several faculty and staff members were recognized as recipients of grants and fellowships, including: Barry Bandstra (religion), Chris Barney (biology), Tom Bultman (biology), the Children's After School Achievement (CASA) program (Fonda Green, executive director), Leah Chase (biology and chemistry), Linda Dykstra (music), Tim Evans (biology), Diana Harrelson (mathematics), Anne Larsen (modern and classical languages), Ryan McFall (computer science), Michael Pikaart (chemistry), Will Polik (chemistry) and Kathy Wyngarden (nursing).