HOLLAND -- All-conference honors have been awarded to Hope College spring sports athletes by the Michigan Intercollegiate Athletic Association (MIAA).

Led by outfielder Vance Nardin, four Hope players received All-MIAA baseball honors. Nardin, a senior from Kentwood (East Kentwood HS) who topped the league in batting, has been chosen the position player of the year. He is joined on the All-MIAA first team by junior second baseman Jon Edmondson of Grand Rapids (Forest Hills Central HS). Receiving All-MIAA second team honors were sophomore shortstop Mike VanderVelde of Grandville (Grandville HS) and junior third baseman Geordie MacKenzie of Grosse Pointe Farms (GP South HS).

All-MIAA softball honors were presented to six Hope players. Four achieved All-MIAA first team recognition while two were presented second team honors. All three starting outfielders -- seniors Megan Sheehan and Candace Graham and freshman Jessica Regnerus -- are first team honorees and they all hail from the same hometown/high school (Hudsonville, Mich.). Junior pitcher Kelsey Guisbert of Farmington, Mich. capped a record-setting season with first team honors. Named to the second team were junior shortstop Emily Adams and freshman catcher Kylee Brouwer. They too are from Hudsonville, Mich.

Junior Anneliese Fox of Alma (Alma HS) won the first flight MIAA women's singles championship for a third consecutive year and was voted the league's most valuable player for the second time in her career. She received All-MIAA first team recognition for a third straight year. Senior Priya Malviya of Holland (Holland HS) and sophomore Ashley Leary of Naperville, Ill. (Naperville Central HS) were voted to the All-MIAA second team. Malviya was presented the Sue Little Sportsmanship award.

In men's tennis, senior Jason Wagenmaker of Grand Haven (Grand Haven HS) was voted to the All-MIAA first team for the second consecutive year while junior Andy Ruemenapp of Petoskey (Petoskey HS) received All-MIAA second team recognition.

All-MIAA honors were presented to five members of the men's track and field team. Sophomore Aaron Kenemer of Zeeland (Zeeland HS) was honored for the second consecutive year. First-time honorees include freshman Erik George of Livonia (Churchhill HS), sophomore Scott Langille of Glen Ellyn, Ill. (Glenbard West HS), junior Jeff Weber of Grandville (Grandville HS) and freshman Michael Wilburn of Rochester (Rochester HS).

All-MIAA honors were presented to four Hope athletes in women's track and field. Senior Tina Pike of Rochester, Minn. (Century HS) and sophomore Jennifer VanderMeer of Holland (Holland HS) were each honored for the second time. Pike is also a two-time All-MIAA honoree in cross country. Receiving All-MIAA recognition for the first time are sophomore Leah Koopmans of Holland (Holland HS) and freshman Lindsay Lange of Manistee (Manistee HS).

- 30 -