Hope College senior Sieun Ruth Lee of Chicago, Illinois, has received a 2018 Undergraduate Student Competitive Travel Award to attend the annual meeting of the American Society for Biochemistry and Molecular Biology (ASBMB).

The $400 award is intended to help defray some of the cost associated with attending the meeting, which will take place on Saturday-Wednesday, April 21-25, in San Diego, California, and be held in conjunction with the annual meeting of Experimental Biology.

Lee, who is majoring in chemistry with a biochemistry emphasis, will be making research presentations during the ASBMB Undergraduate Poster Competition and the Experimental Biology meeting.  She will be sharing her research “The Regulation of Cellular Proliferation by VACM-1/CUL5 is Dependent on its Post-translational Modifications by NEDD8,” conducted with Dr. Maria Burnatowska-Hledin, who is the Frederich Garrett and Helen Floor Dekker Professor of Biomedicine and Chemistry at Hope.

Students and faculty from Hope regularly attend the annual ASBMB meeting.  The other students attending this year are junior Riley Draper of Twin Lake and sophomore Kyle Ross of Ada.  Draper will also be presenting his research, “Mutations in MON2, Which Encodes a Protein Implicated in Vesicular Transport, Affects Response to Exogenous Fatty Acids in Yeast,” conducted with Dr. Virginia McDonough-Stukey, professor of biology and department chair.  Ross has been conducting research with Dr. Kristin Dittenhafer-Reed, assistant professor of chemistry, on “Altered Metabolism and Mitochondrial Lipid Content Drive the Evasion of Apoptosis.”