For the second time in his Hope College coaching career, Brian Morehouse is honored by his peers as the best in NCAA Division III women’s basketball.

The architect and director of the Flying Dutch’s 29-0 team has been named the 2020 United States Marine Corps/Women’s Basketball Coaches Association NCAA Division III National Coach of the Year. 

Morehouse also was named the Division III Women’s Coach of the Year. 

From the WBCA, Morehouse will be presented with the Pat Summitt Trophy, named for the late legendary University of Tennessee coach and awarded annually to the United States Marine Corps/WBCA National Coach of the Year in each of the WBCA’s six membership divisions. The NCAA Division III national coach of the year is selected by a committee of coaches. 

“Brian has sustained success for many years. He was selected as the winner by his peers after leading his team to this year’s exceptional season,” said WBCA Executive Director Danielle M. Donehew. “Brian also serves his peers as a member of our WBCA Board of Directors and a member of the committee of coaches who created and manages the NCAA Division III All-Star game. The WBCA recognizes and applauds his leadership example as he serves his student-athletes, school and community, as well as our coaching family.” 

Morehouse previously received the WBCA Coach of the Year award in 2006 when he guided the Flying Dutch to their second national title in team history.