/ Chemistry Department

Symposium Agenda

Agenda for the Schaap Chemistry Symposium
Hope College, Holland, Michigan
July 11–12, 2019

Download a printable symposium agenda (PDF) 

Thursday, July 11, 2019

Haworth Hotel & Conference Center and the A. Paul Schaap Science Center

9 a.m. Packet pickup (for those not checking in Wednesday night) Haworth Lobby

Poster setup (will remain up for duration of Symposium)

Find your abstract or consult the table inside the back cover of your book to know which poster number you have been assigned.

Haworth Ballroom I+II

Opening Session — 9:45 a.m.–1 p.m.
Haworth Ballroom III

Professor Kenneth L. Brown presiding

9:45 a.m. Welcome and Introductory Remarks Haworth Ballroom III
10 a.m. KEYNOTE: Prof. Rigoberto Hernandez, Johns Hopkins University
“Benign by Design from the Nanoscale to the Human Scale”
Haworth Ballroom III
11 a.m. ST01: Alicia Bostwick, Hope College
“Investigating mechanisms of regulation of mitochondrial DNA transcription”
Haworth Ballroom III
11:15 a.m. ST02: Jordan Cox, Northeastern University
“3D Covalent organic framework heterojunctions for high-performance photovoltaics”
Haworth Ballroom III
11:30 a.m. Break — Feel free to browse posters Haworth Ballroom I–III
11:45 p.m. ST03: Sasha Padilla, University of Notre Dame
“Intracellular Imaging Using Cell Penetrating Molecular Probes with Figure-Eight Architecture”
Haworth Ballroom III
12 p.m. ST04: Shukree Abdul-Rashed, University of Rochester
“Halo-Prins-derived Cationic Cascades and Its Application Towards the Total Synthesis of Citridone A”
Haworth Ballroom III
12:15 p.m. ST05: Jessica Hovey, Wayne State University
“Sorption of Rare-Earth Elements onto a Ligand Scaffold for Extraction and Reuse of Critical Materials”
Haworth III
12:30 p.m. ST06: Skylar Sundquist, Hope College
“Regulation of cellular proliferation by VACM-1/CUL5 is dependent on its posttranslational modifications by NEDD8”
Haworth III
12:45 p.m. Announcements Schaap 1019

LUNCH — 1–2 p.m.
Phelps Dining Hall

After lunch, the symposium moves to the A. Paul Schaap Science Center for the afternoon.

Please note: Schaap 3002 computer lab is reserved and open if you need to check email or work on something. Schaap Science Center room 1118 is also reserved and open for participant work/networking space.

Student Short Talks in Parallel Sessions — 2:30–3:45 p.m.

Schaap 1000

Professor Kristin Dittenhafer-Reed presiding

2:30 p.m. ST07: Greg Hedrick, Hope College
“Activation of Carbon-Carbon Bonds using Amides and Directing Groups”
Schaap 1000
2:45 p.m. ST08: Anne Armstrong, Hope College
“Carbon-Carbon Bond Activation: ortho-fluoro Pyridyl Ketones in Rhodium-Catalyzed Decarbonylation/Substitution Reactions with Boronic Acids”
Schaap 1000
3 p.m. ST09: William Lake, Hope College
“Why Aren’t You Using LibreTexts? Tracking the Digital Textbook Revolution”
Schaap 1000
3:15 p.m. ST10: Michael Liang, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
“Stereoselective Applications of 1,1-Organodiboronate Esters”
Schaap 1000
3:30 p.m. ST11: Kimberly Wasik, University of Nevada, Reno
“Development of a Catalytic Wittig-type Reaction”
Schaap 1000

Schaap 1019

Professor Joanne Stewart presiding

2:30 p.m. ST12: Kim Breyfogle, Hope College
“Parameterizing fluorescent protein chromophores for molecular dynamics simulations”
Schaap 1019
2:45 p.m. ST13: Sarah Olen, Hope College
“Preparing Molybdenum Complexes for Nitrile Oxidation”
Schaap 1019
3 p.m. ST14: Sarah Flowers, Trident Labs,
“Drug Testing: The Role of a Technical Supervisor within a High Complexity Toxicology Lab”
Schaap 1019
3:15 p.m. ST15: Md Shafaat Mehedi, Michigan State University
“Diastereoselective One Pot Synthesis of Oxazolines Using Sulfur Ylides and Acyl Imines”
Schaap 1019
3:30 p.m. ST16: Evan Blietz, Hope College
“Cyclic Voltammetric and Spectroelectrochemical Characterization of Polymer Thin Films”
Schaap 1019

Afternoon Sessions

3:45 p.m. Break (light refreshments available) Schaap Science Center Atrium
4 p.m. Panel A: Industry Careers in Chemistry
Professor Elizabeth M. Sanford presiding
Schaap 1000
4:45 p.m. Break Schaap Science Center Atrium
5 p.m. Panel B: Faculty Careers at Undergraduate Institutions
Professor Sheldon Wettack presiding
Schaap 1000
5:45 p.m. Break Schaap Science Center Atrium
6–6:30 p.m. Optional Building Tours
Meet Hope undergraduate student and faculty tour guides in the Atrium for tours leaving every 10 minutes or so.
Schaap Science Center
6:30–7:30 p.m. Picnic Dinner in the Van Andel Plaza
For air-conditioned dining / tables, feel free to bring your meal inside to the Schaap Atrium or Schaap 1118. In case of inclement weather, our “picnic” dinner will be served in the Haworth Hotel.
Just north of the Schaap Science Center
8 p.m. KEYNOTE (with dessert): Professor Rigoberto Hernandez
“Advancing Chemistry Through Diversity”
Haworth Ballroom III

Friday, July 12, 2019

Haworth Hotel & Conference Center

8:15 a.m. Panel C: Graduate School in Chemistry
Professor Kenneth Brown presiding
Coffee available at 8 a.m. All university graduate students and faculty encouraged to come to share your insights.
Haworth Ballroom III
9 a.m. Panel D: Equity and Inclusion
Professor Kenneth Brown presiding
Haworth Ballroom III
9:45 a.m. Break Haworth Ballroom I+II
10 a.m. Poster Session (with light refreshments)
Odd posters can roam from 10-10:45 a.m.; even posters can roam from 10:45–11:30 a.m.
Haworth Ballroom I+II
11:30 a.m.–1 p.m. Lunch on your own
Local dining options provided in your packet.
8th St., downtown Holland
1–3 p.m. Closing Session
Professor Kenneth Brown presiding
Haworth Ballroom III
1 p.m. ST17: Koralege Pathmasiri, University of Illinois at Chicago
“MSI and LC-MS reveals alterations of phosphoinositides in Niemann-Pick Disease, Type C1”
1:15 p.m. ST18: Michael Drummond, University of IL-Urbana
“Modeling Radical Rebound Hydroxylation using Iron Complexes”
1:30 p.m. ST19: John Dimeglio, University of Michigan
“Bio-Derived Alcohol Conversion Into Valuable Chemicals by Nitrate Mediated Photocatalysis”
1:45 p.m. Break (last chance to browse posters) Haworth Ballroom I+II
2 p.m. ST20: William Killian, Michigan State University
“Effects of Hydrogen Bonding Self-Association on Viscosity in n-Alcohol + Hydrocarbon Mixtures”
2:15 p.m. ST21: Chelsea Diane Anoma, University of IL-Urbana
“Shedding Light on Cancer Stem Cells: An Isoform-Selective Fluorescent Probe for ALDH1A1”
2:30 p.m. ST22: Kristen Bluer, Baylor University
“Investigating the Insertion Chemistry of 9-Phenyl-9-Borafluorene”
2:45 p.m. Concluding Remarks & Surveys  
3 p.m. Please take down posters promptly (must vacate space by 3:15 p.m.) Haworth Ballroom I+II
3:15 p.m. Shuttle to GRR departs Haworth Hotel & Conference Center (for preregistered guests only)