Hope College is one of only five liberal arts colleges and one of only 20 institutions  nationwide to receive an award for student research through the new Beckman Scholars Program.

          The 20 recipient schools were chosen from among a
  select group of 172 institutions invited to apply for the
  awards by the Arnold and Mabel Beckman Foundation of
  Leucadia, Calif.  The $52,800 award to Hope will support
  three students as they conduct research in chemistry or the
  biological sciences.  The program will be supporting a total
  of 73 students nationwide.
          The foundation established the Beckman Scholars
  Program to enhance the training of the nation's most
  talented and gifted undergraduates in chemistry and the
  biological sciences by providing sustained, in-depth
  laboratory research experiences with faculty mentors.  The
  awards will support the students as they conduct research
  with faculty members full-time during the summer and part-
  time during the following school year.
          The participating colleges and universities were
  chosen for having demonstrated excellence in science
  instruction.  Considerations included the institution's
  success in placing students in graduate programs; teaching
  and research excellence awards received by faculty; the
  number of faculty articles in refereed research journals;
  and the degree to which students serve as co-researchers
  with faculty, rather than as support technicians.
          The support at Hope will begin with one student
  this summer and continue with two more beginning in the
  summer of 1999.  The three student recipients will be
  biology, biochemistry or chemistry majors who will be
  juniors at the start of the school year following their
  summer research experience.
          In addition to Hope, the recipient institutions
  are:  California Institute of Technology; California State
  University, Los Angeles; Carleton College; Carnegie Mellon
  University; The College of William and Mary; Massachusetts
  Institute of Technology; Northwestern University; Occidental
  College; Pennsylvania State University; San Francisco State
  University; Stanford University; University of California,
  Berkeley; University of Minnesota (Twin Cities); University
  of Missouri (Columbia); University of Pittsburgh; University
  of Utah; University of Washington; Wellesley College; and
  Williams College.