The 1997 "Milestone" at Hope College is one of only six college and university yearbooks nationwide to win a 1997 yearbook "Pacemaker" award from the Associated Collegiate Press (ACP).

          The Pacemaker awards, the highest award the ACP
  gives, were presented on Saturday, Nov. 7, during the
  College Media Advisers/Associated Collegiate Press Kansas
  City Convention in Missouri.  The books were judged by non-
  ACP staff persons knowledgeable about design, journalism and
          The 1997 "Milestone" chronicles the college's
  1996-97 school year, and is the 80th volume of the annual
  publication, first published in 1916.  The book's editor was
  Anthony C. Perez, a 1998 Hope graduate now living in
  Comstock Park.  The yearbook was published by Walsworth
  Publishing Company of Kansas City, Mo.
          The Associated Collegiate Press is the nation's
  largest and oldest membership association for college-
  student media.  In addition to Hope, the winners in the
  ACP's 1997 yearbook "Pacemaker" awards are Principia College
  of Elsah, Ill.; Oklahoma Baptist University of Shawnee,
  Okla.; Indiana University of Bloomington, Ind.; Kansas State
  University of Manhattan, Kan.; and Northwest Missouri State
  University of Maryville, Mo.  The ACP also named six