Maxine DeBruyn, professor of dance and chair of the Department at Hope College, has received the "Honor Award" from the Midwest District of the American Alliance for Health, Physical Education, Recreation and Dance (AAHPERD).

          The "Honor Award" is presented in recognition of
  distinctive, continuous leadership and professional
  contributions to the enhancement of health, physical
  education, recreation and dance.  DeBruyn received the award
  on Friday, Feb. 12.
          Qualifications for the award include maintaining
  membership in the alliance for the past five years, and
  exhibiting devotion to the advancement of health, physical
  education, recreation and/or dance for the past 10 years.
  Considerations include service as an officer on the
  national, district and state levels, chairing committees on
  the national or district level, or speaking before
  educational groups, at conventions or at meetings related to
  the field.
          The Midwest District of AAHPERD includes Illinois,
  Indiana, Michigan, Ohio, West Virginia and Wisconsin.
          DeBruyn's numerous professional activities include
  several currently.  She is a U.S. representative to the
  International Board of Dance and the Child International, a
  member of the Conseil International de la Danse, UNESCO,
  Paris.  She is director and chair of the Policy and
  Assessment Committee of the Michigan Council for the Arts
  and Cultural Affairs, and co-chaired the council's third and
  fourth annual meetings in October of 1997 and 1998
  respectively.  She is director of the National Association
  of Schools of Dance, Art Serve of Michigan and the
  Nikolais/Louis Foundation of Dance in New York City.
          She chairs AAHPERD's national and Midwest District
  investment committees, and is past president of the Midwest
  District.  She has led several dance workshops for physical
  educators for the alliance at the national, Midwest and
  state level.
     The Midwest District of AAHPERD presented her with its
  Meritorious Service Award in both 1996 and 1998, and with a
  recognition award for service and leadership in 1988.  She
  also received a service and leadership award from AAHPERD in
  1987.  She received a Presidential Citation from the
  National Dance Association for dance assessment in 1992.  In
  1989, her work in the arts was cited in the U.S.
  Congressional Record and in a Joint Concurrent Resolution
  from the State of Michigan Legislature.
          DeBruyn has been a member of the Hope faculty
  since 1965.  During her time at the college, the dance
  program has grown from a single course to a full major.  A
  total of 97 students are currently majoring in dance at
  Hope, and another 25 are pursuing minors.  On March 11-13,
  the college's major annual spring dance concert is marking
  its 25th year.  Professional companies affiliated with the
  college and Hope students also present a number of other
  dance concerts during each school year.
          She is artistic director for the college's
  Striketime Dance Company, through which Hope students
  present dance for children in grades K-six.  She also
  currently chairs the college's Academic Affairs Board.