Dr. Maria Burnatowska-Hledin of the Hope College faculty has received one of only six "Henry Dreyfus Teacher-Scholar Awards" presented nationwide for 1999 to professors in the chemical sciences by the Camille and Henry Dreyfus Foundation.

          The "Henry Dreyfus Teacher-Scholar Awards" program
  supports young faculty early in their careers in
  undergraduate education, recognizing them for their
  teaching, mentorship, and accomplishments in research and
  teaching.  Burnatowska-Hledin is a professor of biology and
  chemistry at Hope.
          The $60,000 award is supporting students and a
  full-time technician as they conduct research in
  Burnatowska-Hledin's laboratory.  She works with an average
  of five student researchers each semester, as well as with
  approximately four to eight students each summer.
          Her research concerns molecular activity affecting
  water reabsorption in the kidney and blood pressure.  She is
  studying VACM-1, a "receptor" in cell membranes that serves
  as a trigger for certain types of cellular activity.  She is
  seeking to understand how the receptor interacts with the
  hormone vasopressin, which plays a role in the maintenance
  of body fluid levels.  Her hope is that the results of her
  research may lead to development of strategies for
  correcting water imbalance and blood pressure disorders.
          Burnatowska-Hledin joined the Hope faculty in
  1992.  She was previously an assistant professor in the
  department of physiology at Michigan State University.
          She has received a variety of grants in support of
  her work, including a multi-year, $503,303 award from the
  National Institutes of Health (NIH) in 1994.  She has had
  articles published in scientific journals including the
  "American Journal of Physiology," the "American Journal of
  Kidney Diseases," "Toxicology" and the "Journal of Clinical
          Burnatowska-Hledin holds a bachelor of science
  degree, with a major in biochemistry, from McGill University
  in Montreal in Quebec, Canada.  She also holds a master of
  science and doctor of philosophy from McGill University.
  She did post-doctoral work in the departments of medicine
  and physiology at Michigan State University.
          The Camille and Henry Dreyfus Foundation was
  established in 1946 and is a memorial to Camille and Henry
  Dreyfus, two brothers who made major contributions in the
  research of materials used in the manufacture of
  photographic films and artificial silk.  The foundation
  supports advancement in the chemical sciences, including
          The foundation presents a variety of grants and
  awards each year, including teacher-scholar awards named for
  each of the two brothers.  In addition to Burnatowska-
  Hledin, recipients of the 1999 Henry Dreyfus Teacher-Scholar
  Awards come from Connecticut College, Fort Lewis College,
  Pomona College, The College of William and Mary, and Wake
  Forest University.