Academic honors awarded by the Michigan Intercollegiate Athletic Association (MIAA) for the 1999/2000 school year include eleven Hope College teams and 123 student-athletes.

The academic awards programs are administered by the faculty representatives of the member colleges.

The Team GPA Award, now in its second year, recognizes teams whose members had a minimum cumulative 3.3 grade point average for the entire school year.

The 11th annual Academic Honor Roll consists of student-athletes who maintained a minimum 3.5 grade point average for the year.

All nine of the Hope women's athletic teams qualified for the Team GPA Award. Recognized in order of their cumulative GPA were volleyball (3.558), swimming and diving (3.539) tennis (3.529), cross country (3.501), track and field (3.478), basketball (3.418), golf (3.330), softball (3.328) and soccer (3.321).

Teams honored from the men's program were basketball (3.417) and cross country (3.402). Click for a complete list of teams.

Among the students named to the Honor Roll are five seniors who achieved the distinction four consecutive years. They are: Ellen Colenbrander (golf) of Holland, Mich./Holland HS, Jennifer Ernst (cross country and golf) of Westerville, Ohio/Westerville South HS, Jeff Kauffman (cross country and track) of Minnetonka, Minn./Minnetonka HS, Chris Kerrins (track) of Lansing/Lansing Catholic HS, and Jennifer Smith (tennis) of Holland/Holland HS.

A total of 31 Hope students combined academic excellence with participation in two sports during the school year. Click for a complete list of honorees.