The Hope College Orchestra will present
a concert featuring the works of Beethoven and Brahms on
Friday, March 9, at 8 p.m. in Dimnent Memorial Chapel.

The public is invited. Admission is free.

Opening the concert will be overture to "Egmont,"
Op. 84 by Ludwig von Beethoven. Written for Goethe's prose
tragedy, the overture depicts the drama of Egmont's eventual
triumph, in his death, over the enemies of his people.

Also featured in the program will be Margaret
Kennedy-Dygas, voice instructor with the department of
music. As a soprano soloist, she will perform the concert
aria "Ah! Perfido" "Perpieta," Op. 65, by Beethoven. The
work belongs to the long musical tradition of laments of
abandoned women, and encompasses dramatic, intense mood-

To close the program, the orchestra will perform
Symphony No. 2 in D major, Op. 73 of Johannes Brahms. The
symphony was written in 1877, while Brahms was in southern
Austria. Brahms wrote to a friend of his idyllic
surroundings: "Here the melodies flow so freely that one
must be careful not to trample on them." Brahms
incorporates the natural "melodies" into this unusually
genial and lyrical symphony.

Dimnent Memorial Chapel is located on College Avenue at
12th Street. Additional information may be obtained by
calling the college's department of music at (616) 395-7650.