A total of five graduating Hope College music students and one faculty member were inducted into the national music honorary society Pi Kappa Lambda during an awards luncheon held on Friday, April 27, shortly before the end of the spring semester.

The students honored were: Anne Houseworth of Alanson; Paul Jacobs of Grand Haven; Tracy Miller of Gurnee, Ill.; David VanDerLaan of Lombard, Ill.; and Laurie Zeller of Waterford. The faculty member who was inducted was Richard Piippo, associate professor of music.

Pi Kappa Lambda recognizes students who are outstanding in both scholarship and musicianship. The organization is the only honor society in the field of music recognized by the Association of College Honor Societies.

The national organization of Pi Kappa Lambda was founded in 1918 at Northwestern University. The Zeta Delta Chapter at Hope was founded in 1987.