Awards for scholastic achievement and service have been presented to graduating Hope College seniors.

The awards honor students for achievement in specific areas of study and service. The students were recognized during the college's annual Honors Convocation on Thursday, April 25.

The Academy of American Poets Award was presented to Katherine Florence Bode-Lang of Grand Rapids, with Elizabeth Ann Lomasney of Lockport, Ill., receiving honorable mention. The American Association of University Women Awards were presented to Linda Dawn Montano and Lori L. Mulder, both of Holland.

The M. Harold Mikle Prize for Communication was presented to Leanne Marie VanDuinen of Rothbury. Katherine Sophia Paarlberg of Glen Rock, N.J., and Dana Lynn Ranschaert of Holland received the Southland Medal (Gerrit H. Albers Gold Medal), which is awarded to the outstanding women of the senior class.

The winner of the John Schouten Award for the outstanding female student-athlete was Amy Michelle Brower of Hamilton. The Otto Vander Velde All-Campus Award was presented to Joshua Paul Boss of Jenison.

The Paul G. Fried Prize in International Education was presented to Leecox Mercelino Omollo of Nairobi, Kenya. Sarah Elizabeth Herman of Sylvania, Ohio, received Music Teachers National Association Student Achievement Recognition. Lora Joy Van Uffelen of Holland was recognized as the recipient of a National Defense Science and Engineering Graduate Fellowship. Technos International Prizes were awarded to Michael Alan Brevet of Metuchen, N.J., and Kristy Lynne Truax of Wilmington, Del.

Cassie Jo Krause of East Jordan and Kristin Brooke McMillen of Kalamazoo received the Herman Miller Art Award. Gregory David Town of Pittsford received the Biology Service Award. The Patterson Memorial Prize in Biology was presented to Adrienne Lee Hull of St. Joseph and Matthew Alexander Nehs of Traverse City.

The American Institute of Chemists' Award was presented to Jessica Lynn Case of Portage and Sara Ann Troyer of Howell. Aranh Pen of Holland and Betty Tang of Holland received the Pharmacia Company Award for Research in Chemistry. The Almon T. Godfrey Prize in Chemistry was presented to Karen Elizabeth Hahn of Midland.

Leland Harding Webb of Bernardsville, N.J., was presented with the Lambda Pi Eta Book Award in communication.

The Boundy Computer Science Award was received by Josiah Alexander Bradford Dykstra of Sioux City, Iowa; and Sarah Marie Dieter of Colorado Springs, Colo., was the winner of the Computer Science Senior Prize.

Elizabeth Ruth Husa of Hudsonville and Christopher Lee Meyer of Holland were awarded the Allan C. Kinney Memorial Award, which is presented to the outstanding graduating senior or seniors majoring in economics and business administration. The Outstanding Student in Management Accounting Award was presented to Brian James Bredeway of Holland. Stacey Lyn Mellema of Muskegon and Kristin Andrea Reinhard of Rochester, N.Y., received the Award for Outstanding Accounting Student. Ross David Poll of Hudsonville received the Economics, Management and Accounting Faculty Recognition Award. Linda Dawn Montano of Holland received the Wall Street Journal Award.

Teresa Ann Janik of Cadillac was the winner of the Marguerite E. Kinkema Special Education Award, while the winners of the Egbert Winter Education Awards were Shari Ann Lewis of Brighton and Patrick Raymond Kinne of Syracuse, N.Y.

The Clarence De Graaf English Awards were presented to Katherine Sophia Paarlberg of Glen Rock, N.J. and Rachael Suzanne Pridgeon of Montgomery. The Erika Brubaker '92 Awards for Proficiency in Literature were presented to Katherine Florence Bode-Lang of Grand Rapids and Julie Ann Green of Interlochen. The Sandrene Schutt Award for Proficiency in Literature was presented to Patrick Raymond Kinne of Syracuse, N.Y.

Tulip City Gem and Mineral Club Awards were presented to Alicia Mieko Kaneshiro of Kaneohe, Hawaii, and Erin Louise Wysocki of Plymouth.

The Kent Medical Foundation Award in the health sciences was presented to Andrea Leigh Preston of Grand Rapids.

The Ray De Young History Prize was awarded to Katie Rene Torgerson of Weidman, while Elizabeth Ruth Husa of Hudsonville received the Miles Award in Law.

Anne Meredith Bradley of Shaker Heights, Ohio, received the Lawrence "Doc" Green Award in Athletic Training. Laura Sue Poppema of Holland received the Dorothy and Russell Siedentop Award, presented to an outstanding member of the basketball teams. Recipients of the William and Mabel Vanderbilt Sr. Family Awards in kinesiology were Candace Rae Kool of Grand Rapids, Sarah Jane Smith of Brighton, Brooke Leigh Vivian of Mc Bain, and Heather Marie Wicklund of St. Paul, Minn.

Dana Lynn Ranschaert of Holland received the Albert E. Lampen Mathematics Prize.

Several students were honored for achievement in the study of a foreign language. Yoko Sezai of Holland received the Eta Sigma Phi Book Prize, while Anna Pauline Wagnild of Eden Prairie, Minn., received the Laura Alice Boyd Memorial Award in German. Maureen Elizabeth Peters of Jackson was awarded the Barbara E. Geeting Memorial Award in German.

The Delta Omicron Senior Honor Award was presented to Jennifer Ruth Walvoord of Holland. Susan Ruth DeKam of Caledonia and Jennifer Ruth Walvoord of Holland received the Robert W. Cavanaugh Senior Music Award. The winner of the Roger Rietberg Chapel Choir Award was Josiah Alexander Bradford Dykstra of Sioux City, Iowa.

The Senior Award for Nursing was given to Sarah Lynn Burgess of Niles, the Miriam Joyce Van Eyl Award was presented to Sarah Elizabeth Ayres of Plainwell, and the Christian Service Award was awarded to Christina Joy Prince of Indianapolis, Ind. The Sigma Theta Tau Awards were presented to Sarah Elizabeth Ayres of Plainwell, Julie Ann Barton of Chicago, Ill., Sarah Lynn Burgess of Niles, Laura Marie Burns of Ann Arbor, Mary Alice Byrn of West Lafayette, Ind., Jennifer Dawn Folkert of Holland, Anna Rebecca King of Downers Grove, Ill., Curtis Scott Mejeur of Kalamazoo, Betsy Jane Nagy of Portage, Ind., Christina Joy Prince of Indianapolis, Ind., and Katie Ranay Steele of Battle Creek.

The Charles E. Lake Memorial Prize in Philosophy was presented to Diana Margarita Castanon of Holland.

The Douwe B. Yntema Prize in physics and engineering was awarded to Lora Joy Van Uffelen of Holland.

Recipients of the James Dyke van Putten Political Science Prizes were Whitney Elaine Hadanek of Charlotte, Elizabeth Anne Schofield of Niles, Matthew Aaron Scogin of Portage, and Jessica Lynn Zimbelman of Stanton.

Wendy Jean Huizenga of Zeeland was awarded the Pietenpol Prize in Religion. Briony Erin Peters of Marinette, Wis., received the Senior Biblical Prize, while Elizabeth Reed Fothergill of Toledo, Ohio, was presented with the Sloan-Stegeman Mission Prize. Jodi Lynn Boom of Coopersville and Emily Marie Wineland of Chelsea were awarded John Richard Vander Wilt Awards in religion.

Jeanette Gustafson Memorial Gifts in social work were presented to Tara Rose Dunham of Traverse City and Paula Renee Kukulka-Van Boxel of Muskegon. The Senior Sociology Award was presented to James Robert Hull of Grand Ledge, while Elizabeth Anne Schofield of Niles received the Social Work Senior Award.

The recipients of the Theatre Department Senior Prize were Blaine Marie Cook of Niles and Jeremy M. Lydic of Holland. Quincy Thomas Marr of Gridley, Ill., received the Brad Williams Memorial Award.