The winners of letters for participation on Hope College winter sports teams have been announced by men's athletic director Ray Smith and senior women's administrator Eva Folkert.

The winners of letters for participation on Hope College winter sports teams have been announced by men's athletic director Ray Smith and senior women's administrator Eva Folkert.

Hope teams captured three of the four Michigan Intercollegiate Athletic Association (MIAA) winter sports championships. Hope was champion in men's basketball, men's swimming/diving and women's swimming/diving. The women's basketball team finished in second place.

Hope is also in first place in the MIAA Commissioner's Cup standings after the winter season. The Commissioner's Cup is presented to the MIAA member school with the best cumulative standings in the 18 sports sponsored by the MIAA.

The winter sports honorees include 15 senior athletes who lettered four years. They include Meredith Albers of Hamilton (cheerleading), Audrey Arnold of Richmond, Ind. (swimming), Lindsay Close of Holland (swimming), Ross Geurink of Hudsonville (swimming, Chris Hamstra of Zeeland (swimming), Ian Kobes of Holland (swimming), Haley Martin of Battle Creek (swimming), Brad Norden of Jenison (swimming), Jeff Seymour of Holland (swimming), Michelle Smith of Olympia, Wash. (swimming), Matt Stolz of Pleasant Lake (swimming), Jennifer Strach of Saline (swimming), Melissa Sulok of South Bend, Ind. (swimming), Jacob Taber of Battle Creek (swimming), and Matt Taylor of Pinckney (basketball).

* denotes number of letters earned

Men's Basketball
Jeff Carlson** (sophomore from Holland/Holland HS)
Stephen Cramer* (freshman from Akron/Unionville-Sebewaing)
David Ellis* (sophomore from Ada/Forest Hills Northern)
Daane Griffeth*** (junior from Grand Rapids/Forest Hills N. HS)
Greg Immink*** (junior from Hudsonville/Hudsonville HS)
Kyle Kleersnyder*** (junior from Alto/Caledonia HS)
Jack Klunder** (junior from Hopkins/Hopkins HS)
Mason Mejeur*** (senior from St. Joseph/St. Joseph HS)
Peter Overbeek* (freshman from Zeeland/Holland Christian HS)
Andy Phillips** (sophomore from Sturgis/Sturgis HS)
Scott Richardson* (freshman from Flint/Carman Ainsworth)
Travis Spaman*** (junior from Allegan/Allegan HS)
Matt Taylor**** (senior from Pinckney/Pinckney HS)
Nate Weaver* (junior from Grand Rapids/South Christian HS)

Women's Basketball
Bria Ebels** (sophomore from Holland/Holland HS)
Linda Ebels** (sophomore from Falmouth/Michigan Christian HS)
Jennie IntVeld* (sophomore from Carson City/Crystal HS)
Lauren Jensen*** (senior from Manistee/Manistee HS)
Sarah Jurik* (freshman from Mesick/Mesick HS)
Gracia Kamps** (junior from Hudsonville/Covenant Christian HS)
Megan Noll** (sophomore from Lake Orion/Lake Orion HS)
Ashley Plowman** (junior from Mulliken/Grand Ledge HS)
Allison Rapaport* (junior from Mt. Pleasant/Mt. Pleasant HS)
Kendra Scanlon* (freshman from Holton/Holton HS)
Joanne Stewart* (sophomore from Big Rapids/Big Rapids HS)
Kelly Taylor*** (junior from Farmington Hills/Harrison HS)
Adelynn Vilmann*** (junior from Houghton/Houghton HS)
Ellen Wood* (freshman from Naperville/Waubonsie Valley HS)

Men's Swimming & Diving
Travis Barkel** (sophomore from Zeeland/Zeeland HS)
Kurtis Blohm* (sophomore from Wilmington, Ohio/Wilmington HS)
Matthew Boote* (freshman from Deerfield, Ill./Deerfield HS)
Andre Bravo* (freshman from Chelsea/Chelsea HS)
Jacob Cook* (freshman from Wyoming/Grandville HS)
Matt Cook*** (junior from Wyoming/Grandville HS)
David DaPrato* (junior from Richmond, Ind./Richmond HS)
Jamin Dreyer** (sophomore from Holland/Zeeland HS)
Ross Geurink**** (senior from Hudsonville/Hudsonville HS)
Abram Glas* (freshman from Kalamazoo/Plainwell HS)
Chris Hamstra**** (senior from Zeeland/Zeeland HS)
Lee Heerspink* (senior from Holland/Holland HS)
Jeff Heydlauff*** (junior from Chelsea/Chelsea HS)
Karl Hoesch* (freshman from Zeeland/Zeeland HS)
Jeffrey Holtman* (freshman from Rochester Hills/Rochester HS)
Jacob Holton* (freshman from Chelsea/Chelsea HS)
Robert Knecht*** (junior from Grand Rapids/GR Christian HS)
Ian Kobes**** (senior from Holland/Holland HS)
Ronald Lindow* (freshman from Allen Park/Allen Park HS)
Chris Lininger*** (junior from Kalamazoo/Portage Central HS)
Brad Norden**** (senior from Jenison/Jenison HS)
David Ornee** (sophomore from Zeeland/Zeeland HS)
Jeff Seymour**** (senior from Holland/Holland HS)
Matt Stolz**** (senior from Pleasant Lake/Northwest HS)
Jacob Taber**** (senior from Battle Creek/Lakeview HS)
Kyle Waterstone* (freshman from Holland/Holland HS)
Matt Waterstone*** (junior from Holland/Holland HS)
Landan Webster* (senior from Holland/Holland HS)
Matt Zuska*** (junior from Lake Forest, Ill./Lake Forest HS)

Women's Swimming & Diving
Carlie Annessa* (freshman from Mandeville, La./Northlake Christian HS)
Rebecca Armstrong* (freshman from Chelsea/Chelsea HS)
Audrey Arnold**** (senior from Richmond, Ind./Richmond HS)
Lisa Baran** (sophomore from South Lyon/South Lyon HS)
Catherine Brinks** (junior from Zeeland/Holland Christian HS)
Stephanie Buck** (junior from Ft. Wayne, Ind/Homestead HS)
Lindsay Close**** (senior from Holland/West Ottawa HS)
Sarah Diekevers* (freshman from Jenison/Jenison HS)
Lisa Ekdom** (sophomore from Holland/Holland Christian HS)
Lindsay Fach** (junior from Rose City/Ogenaw Heights HS)
Kari Foust*** (junior from Plymouth/Salem HS)
Kristen Hanna* (freshman from Plainfield, Ind./Plainfield HS)
Mary Haskamp* (freshman from Otsego/Plainwell HS)
Larissa Mariano* (freshman from Chicago, Ill./VanSteuben HS)
Haley Martin**** (senior from Battle Creek/Lakeview HS)
Megan O'Neil** (sophomore from Troy/Troy HS)
Laura Rippberger** (sophomore from Sylvania, Ohio/Northview HS)
Katie Robinson* (freshman from Shelby Township/Lutheran N. HS)
Rebecca Schewe** (sophomore from Berkley/Berkley HS)
Katie Seamans* (freshman from South Haven/South Haven HS)
Lisa Smith* (freshman from Dearborn/Dearborn HS)
Michelle Smith**** (senior from Olympia, Wash./Home School)
Sarah Smith*** (junior from Dearborn/Dearborn HS)
Renee Sommers* (freshman from Zeeland/Zeeland HS
Erika Steele** (junior from Portage/Portage Northern HS)
Jennifer Strach**** (senior from Saline/Saline HS)
Melissa Sulok**** (senior from South Bend, Ind./Clay HS)
Tiffany Talsma* (freshman from Grandville/Unity Christian HS)
Ashley Tillman** (sophomore from Birmingham/Seaholm HS)
Aislinn Ummel* (freshman from Leesburg, Ind./Warsaw HS)
Erica VanGilder** (sophomore from Midland/Midland HS)
Emily Veneklase** (junior from Grand Rapids/Union HS)

Basketball Cheerleaders
Meredith Albers**** (senior from Hamilton, Mich./Hamilton HS)
Kelly Bauer** (junior from Traverse City/Traverse City West HS)
Eli Cryderman** (sophomore from Byron Center/Byron Center HS)
Katelyn DeYoung*** (junior from Portage/Portage Northern HS)
Ashley Farr*** (junior from Jenison/Jenison HS)
Jennifer Hansen* (freshman from West Olive/West Ottawa HS)
Will Huisman* (freshman from Hudsonville/Hudsonville HS)
Anthony Kreucher** (sophomore from Detroit/Detroit Catholic Central HS)
Carmen Nee*** (junior from Kalamazoo/Kalamazoo Christian HS)
Ashleigh Sartor*** (junior from Plymouth/Canton HS)
J. Frank Shirey* (freshman from Battle Creek/Harper Creek HS)
Anne Slaughter*** (senior from Holland/West Ottawa HS)
Kelly Steeves** (junior from Clarendon Hills, Ill./Hinsdale Central HS)
Sarah Stowell*** (junior from Lake Odessa/Lakewood HS)
Aaron Thomson** (junior from Sandusky/Sandusky HS)