Hope College honored faculty members for service, academic achievement and professional involvement during the college's annual recognition luncheon on Monday, Jan. 9.

Hope College honored faculty members for service, academic achievement and professional involvement during the college's annual recognition luncheon on Monday, Jan. 9.

The luncheon traditionally marks the beginning of the college's second semester. Participating were James N. Boelkins, provost; Jon J. Huisken, dean for academic services and registrar; Moses Lee, dean for the natural sciences; Nancy S. Miller, dean for the social sciences; and William D. Reynolds, dean for the arts and humanities.

Honored for 40 years of service were Glenn Van Wieren (kinesiology) and James Zoetewey (political science). Recognized for 35 years of service were William Mungall (chemistry), William Reynolds (English, and dean for the arts and humanities) and Jack Ridl (English).

Honored for 30 years of service was Susan Cherup (education), while James Heisler (economics and business administration) was recognized for 25 years of service. Recognized for 20 years of service were James Allis (philosophy), Dean Kreps (kinesiology), K. Gregory Murray (biology) and Kathy Winnett-Murray (biology).

Isolde Anderson (communication) was named a Towsley Research Scholar. Linda Dykstra (music) and Margaret Kennedy-Dygas (music) received Ruth and John Reed Faculty Achievement Awards. Steven Hoogerwerf (religion) and Kathy Winnett-Murray (biology) received this year's Provost's Awards for Excellence in Teaching, renamed the Janet L. Andersen Excellence in Teaching Awards in honor of Dr. Janet Andersen of the mathematics faculty, who died of injuries sustained in an automobile accident on Thursday, Nov. 24. The Provost's Award for Service to the Academic Program was presented to Cheryl Schairer, who is administrative assistant to the dean for the social sciences and director of teacher certification.

Faculty honored for serving on the college's Teaching Enhancement Workshop Committee were: James B. Heisler, director (economics and business administration), Donald L. Cronkite (biology), Lorna Hernandez Jarvis (psychology), Barbara Mezeske (education), Joanne Stewart (chemistry) and Debra Swanson (sociology).

Fred Johnson (history) was recognized for having received the 2005 Hope Outstanding Professor Educator (H.O.P.E.) Award.

Faculty acknowledged as authors and editors during the past year were: Janet Andersen (mathematics), Maria Claudia Andre (Spanish), Jacqueline Bartley (English), Rodney Boyer (chemistry, emeritus), Donald Cronkite (biology), Charles Huttar (English, emeritus), Fred Johnson (history), Jeffrey Polet (political science), Dianne Portfleet (English), David Ryden (political science), Peter Schakel (English), John Shaughnessy (psychology), Caroline Simon (philosophy), Todd Swanson (mathematics) and Robert Swierenga (A.C. Van Raalte Institute, and history).

Honored for accomplishment as performing artists were Jean Bahle (theatre), Michelle Bombe (theatre), Linda Graham (dance), Perry Landes (theatre), Huw Lewis (music), Daina Robins (theatre), Richard Smith (theatre) and Steve Talaga (music). Members of the art faculty recognized for their work as artists were Bruce McCombs and Katherine Sullivan. Members of the kinesiology faculty and staff honored for accomplishments as coaches were: Bob Ebels (men's golf), Brian Morehouse (women's basketball), John Patnott (men's swimming), Becky Schmidt (volleyball), Leigh Sears (women's soccer) and Steve Smith (men's soccer).

Faculty honored for being named officers of professional associations were: Susan Cherup (education), Ed Hansen (geological and environmental sciences), James Herrick (communication), John Krupczak (engineering), Catherine Mader (physics) and William Polik (chemistry).

Faculty recognized for receiving honors and awards were: Kirk Brumels (kinesiology), Donald Cronkite (biology), Paul DeYoung (physics), Susan Dunn (nursing), Jane Finn (education), Eva Dean Folkert (kinesiology), Lynne Hendrix (accounting), Steven Iannacone (dance), Lynn Japinga (religion), Fred Johnson (history), Graham Peaslee (chemistry, and geological and environmental science), R. Richard Ray (kinesiology), Jack Ridl (English), David Schock (communication), Debra Sietsema (nursing), Tom Smith (management), Nathan Tintle (mathematics) and Jennifer Young (English).

Several faculty and departments and programs were recognized as recipients of grants and fellowships: Christopher Barney (biology), Jacqueline Bartley (English), Thomas Bultman (biology), Leah Chase (biology and chemistry), Jeanine Dell'Olio (education), Kim Douglas (English), Peter Gonthier (physics), Ed Hansen (geological and environmental sciences), Steven Iannacone (dance), John Krupczak (engineering), Mark Little (physics), Donald Luidens (sociology), Catherine Mader (physics), Michael Misovich (engineering), K. Gregory Murray (biology), William Polik (chemistry), Caroline Simon (philosophy), Pam Smitter-Baker (music), Joanne Stewart (chemistry), Deborah Sturtevant (sociology and social work), Debbie Swarthout (biology), Steven VanderVeen (economics, management and accounting), Roger Veldman (engineering) and Kathy Winnett-Murray (biology). Departments and programs that were recognized included biology, chemistry, the Children's After School Achievement (CASA) program, the CrossRoads Program, geological and environmental sciences, nursing and psychology.