A total of 54 of Hope College’s graduating seniors and recent graduates have been initiated into the college’s Zeta of Michigan chapter of Phi Beta Kappa, the nation’s oldest scholastic honorary society.

The ceremony took place on Saturday, May 7, in the Concert Hall of the Jack H. Miller Center for Musical Arts.

Hope is one of only 290 colleges and universities in the country to have a chapter of Phi Beta Kappa, whose mission is to champion education in the liberal arts and sciences, foster freedom of thought and recognize academic excellence. Since the society’s founding in 1776, 17 U.S. Presidents, 42 U.S. Supreme Court Justices, and more than 150 Nobel Laureates have been inducted as members, along with countless authors, diplomats, athletes, researchers, actors and business leaders.

The newly inducted members at Hope are:

Brett Ronald Baker
McKenna Lynne Bartley
Chloe C. Bartz
Vicente Teodoro Bickel
Sabrina Lynn Blank
Claire E. Buck
Kaci L. Carlson
Leah C. Cooper
Adam James Czeranko
Julia M. Dawson
Molly J. Douma III
Jessica Mae Elderkin
Lisbeth M. Franzon
Benjamin O. Gleeson
Rachael Antoinette Grochowski
Blake D. Harlow
Emi Herman
Madeline Grace Heter
Mackenzie Grace Horn
Yiwei Jiang
Rachel Eileen Johnson
Mary M. Kamara-Hagemeyer
Paulina Kozan
Kaelyn G. Lagerwall
Claire Marie Leikert
Christian James Lundy
Elizabeth Lily Margason
Paige A. Massa
Carlie A. McNiff
Hannah Rane Meade
Catherine Leitha Miller
Anna L. Molloy
Evan R. Mulshine
Mary Chikondi Ngoma
Amy J. Osterbaan
Trevor S. Palmatier
Sarah Elizabeth Pelyhes
Grace M. Pettinger
Tristan Porter
Erin E. Ramey
Christopher Glenn Rexroth
Anna Grace Scott
Maria Therese Seidl
Haley Mae Soderbloom
Grace K. Stevenson
Josephine Lee Surel
Tsega D. Tefera
Maggie Tiffman
Natalie Ann Trout
Seth B. Van Blois
Abigail A. Vander Vliet
Kamaron Elliott Wilcox
Isabella R. Wilson
Sanseong Yang