/ Center for Global Engagement


Motoichiro Ohgimi Global Courage Award

An award recognizing those that exhibit the intercultural courage exemplified by Motoichiro Ohgimi, one of Hope College’s first international students, who graduated in 1879. A professor or academic staff member who exemplifies the following qualities: 

  • Deep engagement with that part of the Hope College mission calling us to prepare students for leadership and service in a global society.
  • Bold risk-taking in creating new ways and opportunities to help students engage people, places, and cultures different from their own.
  • Engages in global initiatives that go above and beyond his or her normal responsibilities.

The award is presented at the Annual Faculty Recognition luncheon.

Motoichiro Ohgimi Global Courage Award Winners

  • 2013 - Alfredo M. Gonzales and Charles Green
  • 2014 - Annie Dandavati
  • 2015 - Amy Otis-De Grau
  • 2016 - Deirdre Johnston and John Yelding
  • 2017 - Ernest Cole and Lorna Jarvis
  • 2018 - Yolanda Vega
  • 2019 - Kendra Parker
  • 2020 - Jianhua Li
  • 2021 - Marissa Doshi
  • 2022 - Cindy Sabo
  • 2023 - Janis Gibbs and Jim Van Heest
  • 2024 - Stephanie Pangborn

Kumaji Kimura Leadership Award winners

This award recognizes an international student who has demonstrated the courage and conviction to live into the mission of the College by serving and leading in a global society. Kumaji Kimura, class of 1879, is one of Hope College’s first international graduates. A Japanese citizen during the Meiji era, Kimura courageously set out to study in the United States at the end of the 19th century. After graduating from Hope College, Kimura eventually returned to Japan to have a profound impact on Japanese education and society. He is credited with founding the Meiji Women's Academy in Tokyo with his wife, Toko Kimura, and later opening the Komoro Gijuku in Komoro, Nagano Prefecture.

Kumaji Kimura Leadership Award Winners

  • 2023 - Fara Ling
  • 2024 - Brian Ntwali