Hope College has placed 13 swimmers on the 2003 Michigan Intercollegiate Athletic Association (MIAA) all-conference teams.

The MIAA champion Flying Dutch placed eight swimmers on the women's honor team. The team is led by senior Erin VandenBerg of Beverly Hills, Mich. (Southfield Christian HS) who achieved All-MIAA honors a fourth consecutive year. Honored for the third year in-a-row were junior Audrey Arnold of Richmond, Ind., senior Kelly Parker of Battle Creek, Mich. (Lakeview HS), and junior Michelle Smith of Olympia, Wash. (Home School). First-time honorees include freshman Lisa Ekdom of Holland, Mich. (Holland Christian HS), sophomore Kari Foust of Plymouth. Mich. (Salem HS), freshman Meagan O'Neil of Troy, Mich. (Troy HS), and sophomore Erika Steele of Portage, Mich. (Portage Northern HS).

The achievement of Erin VandenBerg was especially significant. Her older sister Betsy was also an All-MIAA swimmer at Hope four consecutive years (1998-01).

The Flying Dutchmen, who finished second in the conference standings, placed five swimmers on the men's All-MIAA team. Senior Brian Slagh of Holland, Mich. (Zeeland HS) achieved All-MIAA honors a fourth consecutive year. Junior Ian Kobes of Holland, Mich. (Holland HS) was named All-MIAA for the third time in-a-row while junior Chris Hamstra of Zeeland, Mich. (Zeeland HS) was honored for second time. First-time honorees include senior Dan Bouwens of Zeeland, Mich. (Zeeland HS) and freshman David Ornee of Zeeland (Zeeland HS).